NHIE exam prep options compared
NHIE prep runs from free webinars to courses near $400. The standalone paid products we found cost $15 to $399, and they differ most in how many practice questions you get, whether the answers are explained, and how long you keep access. The table below sets them side by side, from each seller's own page.
Checked on . Updated
The options side by side
| Option | Price | Practice questions | Answers explained | Access |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EBPHI practice quizzes | $15 to $25 each, five quizzes | 50 in Whole House, 25 in each of the others | Feedback on missed questions at the end | One take per purchase |
| InterNACHI NHIE webinars | Free | Questions reviewed live, 8 sessions | Reviewed live | Not stated |
| InterNACHI practice tool | InterNACHI membership, $49 a month or $499 a year | 2,000+ | Right or wrong shown | While a member |
| AHIT Exam Prep Edge | $399, or inside AHIT packages | AHIT says it is not a question bank | Not stated | 20 sessions, live or on demand |
| ICA School exam prep | $300 by phone, or inside packages from $795 | 700 | With feedback | Lifetime |
| Mometrix online course | $79.99 a month | 400 | Yes | While subscribed |
| CompuCram | $99 | Not stated | Not stated | 180 days |
| Performance Programs book | $39.95 print, $32.95 PDF, at PSI's store | About 230 | Yes, rationales | A book |
| ICTA test prep (Phoenix) | $249 | A review course, not a question bank | Does not apply | Visits expire after 12 months |
| Inspector Exam Lab (this course) | $225, one payment | 5,000+ bank questions and 5 full-length practice exams | Every practice exam question | 12 months of access |
"Not stated" means the seller's page did not say, not that the answer is no. Ask before you buy. Our own course opens for enrollment soon, and the free practice below is open now.
Pass guarantees
Three options offer a guarantee, and each one comes with conditions:
- AHIT pays back your first NHIE fee, up to $225, after you finish its full Success Path: its required education, all 20 Exam Prep Edge sessions, and set scores on its domain and mock exams.
- CompuCram refunds your money if you fail after scoring 80% or better on 3 of its simulated exams and testing within 30 days.
- Inspector Exam Lab refunds the course fee if you finish every lesson, pass every lesson quiz, clear the mastery exam, and then fail the NHIE within 60 days. The guarantee page has the full terms.
Mometrix offers refunds within a set time, but not a pass guarantee.
What to check before you pay
- The weights. The 2023 outline is 70 / 20 / 10. Some prep pages still print older weights, including InterNACHI's webinar page, which lists 25% and 12% for the two smaller domains. See NHIE domain weights.
- Explanations. A question that only tells you right or wrong teaches less than one that tells you why.
- Full-length practice. The NHIE is 200 questions in 4 hours. Practice at that length at least once.
- Access. Some options are one take, some are monthly, and some last a year or more. Count on a retake: the wait is 30 days.
Free practice to start with
- Our free full-length exam: 200 questions, weighted like the NHIE, scored by task.
- 190 free practice questions, ten for each outline task, every answer explained.
- InterNACHI's free webinar series on the NHIE.
The other free tests, from 5 questions to 200, are set side by side in free NHIE practice tests compared.
The free NHIE study guide turns the outline into a checklist you can study from.
Questions people ask
Does EBPHI recommend a prep course?
No. EBPHI says it does not review or endorse training programs. It tells candidates to compare any course to the NHIE content outline.
Is there an official NHIE practice test?
EBPHI sells five practice quizzes, one take per purchase: a 50 question Whole House quiz and four 25 question quizzes. It no longer offers a free online sample test.
Do Kaplan or McKissock sell NHIE prep?
Not that we found. Kaplan's pages we read list a home inspection principles course, not an NHIE prep product, and McKissock's home inspection pages list continuing education.
Are the NHIE apps made by EBPHI?
Not the ones we found. An app named EBPHI NHIE Flashcards is published by Nordic Social Media AB, not by EBPHI. The app stores list the publisher under the app name.
See where you stand
Take a free 200 question practice exam, weighted like the NHIE, with your score by task.
Not ready for that yet? Get the free NHIE study guide, a printable checklist of all 19 outline tasks, by email.
More NHIE guides
- What is the NHIE pass rate?
- How hard is the NHIE?
- What score do you need to pass the NHIE?
- NHIE domain weights and content outline
- How to study for the NHIE
- How do you study HVAC, electrical, and plumbing for the NHIE?
- How to pass the NHIE
- What to do after you fail the NHIE
- Why do people score high on NHIE practice tests and still fail?
- What is EBPHI?
- Free NHIE practice tests compared
- Free NHIE study guide
- Free NHIE practice test PDF
- How to register for the NHIE
- NHIE exam day: cost, scheduling, and what to bring
- Can you get extra time or other accommodations on the NHIE?
- Is there a state exam for home inspectors?
- The NHIE Home Inspection Manual
Related pages