Skip to content

Independent exam prep. Not affiliated with the NHIE or EBPHI. No licensing, education hour, or CE credit. Disclaimer

Inspector Exam Lab

What software do home inspectors use to write reports?

Home inspectors write reports in software built for the job: an app used on site, plus a web or desktop editor to finish and send the report. Spectora, HomeGauge, Home Inspector Pro, ISN, Palmtech, and Tap Inspect are among the products sold for it. They are priced by the month, by the inspector, or by the inspection.

By Russ Motyko, Certified Master Inspector®. Checked on . Updated

What report software does

The core job is turning a walk through a house into a finished report. The inspector picks a system, marks what was seen, adds photos, and chooses comments from a saved library. The software lays it out and sends it to the client, often as a web link with a PDF version.

Several of the products below also sell the office work around it: online agreements, scheduling, and payments, in the base price or as an add-on. Some can also hold the finished report until the client pays. For more, see how home inspectors make sure they get paid.

Russ Motyko looks for five things in a report tool:

  • It works on a phone or tablet while moving through a house.
  • The finished report is clean and easy for a buyer to read.
  • Photos and video fit into the report flow.
  • There is room for written comments, not only checkboxes.
  • The report goes out fast, with little work after the inspection.

In his view the client's experience with the report matters more than any back-office feature. A confusing report reflects on the inspector, however efficient the tool behind it.

Six products and their posted prices

Each row comes from the vendor's own page on October 27, 2026. The order is alphabetical, not a ranking. "Not stated" means the vendor's page did not say.

Report software, from each vendor's own pages, October 27, 2026
ProductRuns onPosted priceFree trial
HomeGaugeWindows desktop report writer (Mac through Parallels or similar); Companion app for iOS and Android$89 a month after the trial30 days
Home Inspector ProDesktop for Windows and Mac; mobile for iOS and Android$89 a month; annual discounts, amount not stated30 days
ISNWeb and app; operating systems not stated$7.25 per inspection for the first 50 a month, $5.50 for the next 51, $3.75 for the next 49; monthly minimums may apply after the trial30 days
PalmtechNot stated on its site; its App Store listing calls the iPhone and iPad app a companion to a PC-based product$50 a user per month, or $500 a user per year; all features in every planFive free published inspections
SpectoraMobile app and web editor$109 a month or $1,090 a year; added inspectors $99 a month or $999 a year; optional Advanced tier $4 per inspection2 free inspections, no time limit
Tap InspectiPhone and iPad app; Autopilot cloud back office$7.50 per inspection, sold in blocks of 20 for $150, or $90 a month unlimited; $45 per added inspector on the team planFirst 5 inspections

Extras can sit outside the headline price. Spectora, for one, prices its websites and its Advanced tier separately from the software. Read the whole pricing page before comparing.

Flat price or per inspection

The pricing model matters as much as the price. A flat monthly plan costs the same in a slow month and a busy one. A per-inspection plan rises and falls with the work.

Tap Inspect's own numbers show where the line falls. At $7.50 per inspection, 12 inspections cost $90, the same as its unlimited plan. Below 12 a month, paying per job costs less. Above it, the flat plan does. Spectora's annual price of $1,090 compares with $1,308 for 12 months at the monthly rate.

A new inspector doing a few jobs a month and an established one doing two a day will land on different answers. For a sense of volume, see how many inspections fit in a day.

Use the free trials

Russ's advice is to write two or three real reports on each platform under consideration. Then show them to a client or a real estate agent before deciding. The report has to work for the person reading it, not only for the inspector writing it.

Build the comment library early

Whatever the platform, Russ Motyko's view is that the comment library decides how fast reports get written. The fastest report writers are not better writers by nature. They have built a set of accurate, well-worded comments they can use on every inspection.

Start that library in the first weeks and keep editing it. It is also the part of a platform that is hardest to move, which is one more reason to choose with care up front. For how to word findings so clients read them, see writing reports clients actually read.

Questions people ask

How much does home inspection report software cost?

On the vendors' own pages on October 27, 2026, flat plans ran from $50 a user per month (Palmtech) to $109 a month (Spectora). Tap Inspect and ISN also sell per-inspection pricing. Prices change, so check the vendor's page before signing up.

Is there free home inspection software?

None of these six posts a free plan. Each offers a trial: 30 days at HomeGauge, Home Inspector Pro, and ISN, and a set number of free inspections at Spectora, Palmtech, and Tap Inspect.

Does report software include scheduling and payments?

Often, but check the plan. HomeGauge lists online agreements, scheduling, and payments in its monthly price, and Tap Inspect includes a back office for agreements, invoices, and payments. What comes in the base price varies.

Can you switch report software later?

Yes, but a comment library and templates may not move over cleanly. The longer one platform is in use, the more work a switch takes.

See where you stand

Take a free 200 question practice exam, weighted like the NHIE, with your score by task.

Not ready for that yet? Get the free NHIE study guide, a printable checklist of all 19 outline tasks, by email.

Running the business

More from the blog

Career guides